Halloween / Humour

10 Last-Minute Halloween Costumes That Won’t Break The Bank

I read recently that Canadians will be spending more than $1 billion on Halloween this year.

Either everyone is buying me REALLY expensive birthday gifts (P.S., it’s my birthday), or this whole Halloween business is getting straight out of control.

A few years back, I dropped a ton of dough on this Snow White get-up:

With my boo Ariel

For a larger group costume of Disney Princesses:

Sick costume, I know, but was it really worth $150 of my student line of credit  hard-earned dollars??

Let’s just leave that one rhetorical.

In any event, if you’ve got a Halloween party this weekend and don’t want to be a sucker like I was, here are a few easy, punny costume ideas I curated (that’s what Hipsters say when they want to add value to something, right?)  from various corners of the interweb that won’t break the bank:

1. Freudian Slip 

 

2. Business Ghost

Business-ghost

I don’t know why I find this so hilarious.. but I do

3. A Baked Potato

Literally just wrap yourself in tin foil. Genius

4. Iron Chef 

5. Liz Lemon

Via Buzzfeed. My hero

6. Ceiling Fan 

Ceiling fan

…. if you’ve got a partner in crime:

7.  French Kiss 

French Kiss

8. Meat and Greet 

Meat and Greet

So weird yet so awesome.

… if you’ve got a guitar

9. Cat Stevens

Take your basic cat costume one step further with a nod to a musical legend.

…and finally:

10. Chicken Cord On Blue 

Show of your dual appreciation for wordplay and slapstick with this pun.

Good luck and happy costuming! If you do any of these, please send me pics! Especially the last one.

Question of the Day:  What are you dressing up as for Halloween?

 

8 thoughts on “10 Last-Minute Halloween Costumes That Won’t Break The Bank

  1. That Chicken Cord on Blue is hilarious! Oh where did I put my rubber chicken? I still have time to throw that together! People ask what I was going to dress up as for Halloween and I tell them a ghost as I will be Princess Anna and Elsa’s parents. But I think that might be a bit too dark for Halloween and young daughters

    Like

  2. Snowsuit = Canadian mother!
    I “made” Little Guy’s costume – spray-painted black cardboard box with holes and glued on purple construction “eyes”, paired with black pants and shirt (inside out) from Value Village…instant Enderman (video game bad guy)! Oh yeah!

    Like

Leave a Reply

