Writing 101: I Immediately Regret This Decision

In an effort to tone down the Big Brother PVR marathons and get myself writing and blogging more regularly, I signed up for  the WordPress“Writing 101″ course-  a daily challenge to help you build a writing habit and push you as a writer.  The course kicked off today with the following challenge: 

Take twenty minutes to free write. And don’t think about what you’ll write. Just write.

And for your first twist? Publish this stream-of-consciousness post on your blog.

Ummm….

I’ll start by saying that the idea of this challenge makes me feel physically ill. I spend days conceptualizing, drafting and over-thinking each blog post I write, eliciting feedback from my family, friends and long-suffering boyfriend before ultimately hitting “publish”. And while I know I make it look easy (AKA: it’s not very good), each word, celebrity reference and hilarious GIF are meticulously chosen to complete the whole, random picture.

I’ve often wished I could take a more “stream of consciousness” approach to this whole blogging thing- to stop considering each of my posts as little darlings, and instead just focus on getting more out there. Often I’m paralyzed by self-doubt and insecurity, allowing completed posts to sit in my drafts folder for weeks after dubbing them not funny/interesting/well written enough to be published. I don’t really know what my problem is. It’s not like I’m trying to get shortlisted for the Man Booker prize. No one has offered to turn my blog into a best-selling short story collection (YET).

I am both in awe and admiration of bloggers who manage to post several times a week. Katie, for example is killer at that. Every time I check her blog there’s a new, charming and hilarious post. Dam*it Katie!! I would hate you if you weren’t so sweet and lovable. I tried once to post a blog every day for a month (last year, in October) and it was, as the French would say, un désastre  complet. I started out with lots of gusto, but by the end of things, I was posting random Youtube songs and long soliloquies about my favourite kind of Halloween candy .

Well- my 20 minutes is almost up (I spent 10 of it looking for that awesome Ron Burgundy GIF), so I guess the secret behind posting regular, engaging content will remain a mystery to me – much like Twitter, and how some people manage to leave part of their dessert uneaten.  

Until next time!

Question of the Day: Do you ever blog “stream of consciousness” thoughts? Or is every post meticulously planned? 

4 thoughts on “Writing 101: I Immediately Regret This Decision

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

