A Year In The [Camel] Life

Today is a very special day here at The Camel Life. Not only is it International Talk Like A Pirate Day ( Arr!…. Yeah, I got nothing), it’s also my one year blogging anniversary!
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

That’s right, kids. One year ago today, I said goodbye to my last remaining ounce of pride and hit publish on my very first blog post. Now, one year and 112 nonsensical posts later, I couldn’t be happier that I did.

I could tell you in way too many words (like I usually do) what an amazing year this has been for me, but instead, I think I’ll just let the cold, hard numbers do the talking. So without further adieu I present to you:

The Camel Life: A Year in Numbers:

  • Number of people I have somehow convinced to subscribe to this foolishness: 507
  • Percentage of those people who are actually members of my immediate family under assumed names: 99

Photobucket

  • Number of posts I’ve written that have been Freshly Pressed: 3

What’s that, you want to read them again?? Ok:

Twitter: The 21st Century Haiku?

The Vegetarian’s Dilemma

TIFF and the Fine Art of Celebrity Stalking

  • Number of posts I need to have Freshly Pressed before I can start blogging full-time while watching Anderson all day and eating Ritter Sports: Eleventy Billion. (Umm.. do you know how expensive Ritter Sports are?? sh*t is some fine, European chocolate right there.)
Future living room.
  • Number of hits received since September 19, 2011: 75,000
  • Number of those hits that were actually the result of people google searching the term “Carb Face”: 74,849 (see this post).
  • Google search rank for the term “Carb Face” : 1

JAM Bowing Pictures, Images and Photos

  • 875: Approximate number of pictures posted of animals doing people things:

You’re welcome.

  • 15,789: Words written about reality TV, being lonely and/or cereal consumption:
My life
  • Percentage of posts that exploit one or more of my family members: 100.
Sorry guys.

I feel like this should end like one of those Mastercard commercials and say “Overall Experience: Priceless” or some sh*t like that.. but I like you guys too much to do that to you. Even if I do make you read stale Anchorman jokes and look at pics of me in my sweaty gym clothes.

So instead I’ll say that blogging this past year has been tons of fun, and honestly one of the best experiences of my life. Not only have I had a lot of laughs and written about everything from my profuse sweating problem to growing up catholic and my imaginary friend Jenna, I’ve learned a lot about myself in the process. Blogging has also helped me to stay connected to my friends and family back home and to make a lot of new friends, both online and IRL.

So now I’m going to celebrate this momentous occasion the only way I know how: By inserting this delicious red velvet cupcake into my mouth hole:

In other words:

Question of the Day: How long have you been blogging?

Or.. if you don’t blog, have you ever thought about it?

18 thoughts on “A Year In The [Camel] Life

Add yours

    1. Haha Lucille is the best. And as for the cleaning lady, she is seriously life changing. I’m considering proposing to her on her next visit. Or just leaving her a bigger tip.

      Like

  1. Happy Blogging Birthday! It’s my 3 week birthday of following you! yay?

    I’ve been blogging on and off for 3 years. I recently relaunched and have been trying to be more diligent about posting regularly.

    Like

  2. Congrats!! My one year will be December 9th. That first post said I wanted to try and put something up AT LEAST once a week. I’ve managed to fit in almost 350 post since then. I think I did it. Those are some impressive numbers that I hope to have someday.

    Like

  3. Happy one-year Breezy! 😀

    I’ve been blogging for about a year and a month, but I took a long hiatus between last October? and this past February or March. Plus I haven’t really blogged regularly again until recently, where I’ve been trying to at least post once or twice a week. (Attempting is the key word.) Anyway, enjoy your one year…and 3 Freshly Pressed! That is quite impressive!

    Like

  4. Happy first birthday!!!! As much as I have enjoyed your numerous animals action pictures and all the laughs and joy your blog brought to my life over the past year, I think the best part of it all was that we became real life friends *tear*

    May you have many more years of hilarious Freshly Pressed, reality show based, first-world-problem lamenting, animal picture filled blog posts to come!

    To answer your Qs, yes! I have a blog lol. And I`m coming up to three years on Tuesday!!! Ahhhhhh!!

    Like

    1. Aah I love that too! I was going to specifically reference you, but given that I talk about you in 98% of my posts, I didn’t want people to get the idea that I’m completely obsessed. Even though I totally am. See you Sunday!! 😉

      Like

  5. Congrats on one year and all the accomplishments that came with it. Have you and Karen combined into one Super Blogger yet? I’m afraid if you don’t soon this relationship may end in a love triangle based around a celebrity named Ryan (haven’t decided if it will be Reynolds or Gosling).

    Like

  6. Wow, 1 year that is amazeballs! Congrats on 365 days of awesomeness. And thank you for putting a name to carb face. I’ve been blogging for 5 months- never been freshly pressed 😦 I think the problem is I’m not funny.
    P.S. Like the new background color

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

