Books / Reading

My Summer Reading List

For those of you who were wondering, I am still reading.

Granted, not to the same (crazy) extent as last year. I have decided not to read 52 books in one year again, because let’s be honest-

Plus, I want to take the time to enjoy what I’m reading a bit more.

Currently my total is hovering somewhere around 15, and I’m totally ok with that- because you know what they say….

But with summer now in full swing, I figured it was time to pick up some new reads. Specifically, light, fun ones- perfect for laying on the beach or lounging by the pool (or, in my case, sitting in my air conditioned condo and crowded office food court. Man I need a vacation).

So I ordered a few gems from Amazon- and since I have nothing better to do besides sit on my front steps and wait patiently until they arrive, I thought I’d share my summer reading list with all of you guys.

The Vacationers by Emma Straub 

When a Manhattan family sets out on a two week summer vacation to the beautiful island of Mallorca, what could possibly go wrong?

….Infidelity, heartbreak, delusion and scandal, that’s what!

Billed as a fluffy summer read made substantial by the “exceptional wit, insight, intelligence and talents of its author”, I can’t wait to crack into this puppy .

I am Having So much Fun Here Without You by Courtney Maum

A “reverse love story” set in London and Paris, I am Having So Much Fun Here Without You tells the tale of Richard, a 34-year-old British artist trying to win his wife back after a brief “ellipsis” with an American mistress.

Still, I’m excited to watch him try.

The Girl Who Was Saturday Night by Heather O’Neill

19-year-old twins Nicholas and Nouschka Tremblay are the offspring of Quebec folk singer, and notorious playboy, Etienne Tremblay. They spent their childhood in the public eye; simultaneously performing with him and being abandoned by him. Now they are grown up and making their own mistakes on the streets of referendum-era Montreal – all of which ending up in the French Canadian tabloid Allo Police.

It’s a coming-of-age tale with a hefty dose of family drama (which sounds pretty much like my own life) so I’m excited to check it out

My Salinger Year by Joanna Rakoff

At twenty-three, a starry-eyed Joanna Rakoff moves to New York with dreams of becoming a writer. Instead, she winds up in a crappy Williamsburg apartment with a job as assistant to the literary agent for J.D. Salinger. Her task is to answer Salinger’s endless amount of fan-mail with a stock response. As she gets into it, however, she becomes inspired and starts crafting her own replies.

It’s a memoir about literary New York in the late 90’s, and the coming-of-age tale of a now successful writer.

Maybe I’ll be inspired? Naah. I’ll probably just sit on the couch and watch more Extreme Weight Loss. 

Question of the Day: What’s on your summer reading list?

6 thoughts on “My Summer Reading List

  1. I’m going to cheer on that British artist bloke for no other reason than I’m British and a bloke. I think I’ll boo and hiss at anything the French-Canadian characters will be doing for no other reason than I’m a daft racist.

    I don’t really have a summer reading list as such but no doubt there’ll be lots of thrilling non-fiction stuff being downloaded onto my Kindle over the coming months. Social history is jolly spiffing stuff.

    Like

  2. I have small piles through the house, so I’m not going to call it my “summer reading” but my “get around to it this summer reading.” I have Aunt Julia and the Script Writer on deck as well as Arthur & George by Julian Barnes. Summer’s also a good time to read the last Frank Bascombe book by Richard Ford, The Lay of the Land. None of these are new, but then neither am I.

    Like

  3. You probably already read this but Where did you go Bernadette was a fun read and nice for summer. Im currently reading Thin, Rich and Pretty – which is actually really cute and those are essentially my goals so figured maybe it was like a self-help book.

    Like

    • I haven’t read it but was wondering if it was good! I’ll check it out. I also want to be all three of those things so your second book sounds like a good pick for me as well lol

      Like

  4. You have excellent taste, BreezyK. Most of these books are on my to read list. Especially the Salinger one because I am a total geek. Just picked up The Rosie Project at Target because I had a coupon. That’s going to be one of my beach reads. Can’t wait to hear your reviews.

    Like

Leave a Reply

