Books

10 Second Book Review- Bridget Jones: Mad About the Boy

No Mark Darcy? Not Interested.

bridget2

… At least that was my first thought upon hearing the handsome, loveable man of my every girl’s dreams had been (gasp!) killed off in the latest installment of the Bridget Jones series.

bridget5

Alas- my love for Bridget and her endearing quirks transcended. I knew I couldn’t live without hearing the end of the saga…  and, after all- there was still Daniel. :)

bridget3

Mad About the Boy follows a now 51-year-old Bridget left widowed after the aforementioned death of her love Mark Darcy. Forced back into proverbial saddle, Bridget must navigate a world of online dating, endless waxing appointments, and Twitter- all while juggling two small children.

I’ll admit, I thought the plot sounded a bit pathetic at first (images of Sex and The City II sprang to mind)

bridget4

, and that maybe Helen Fielding should’ve quit while she was ahead- Larry David styles.

In the end, however, I think Fielding- and Bridget- actually kind of pulled it off. Bridget’s charm and humor still shone through- albeit not quite as brightly as in the first two books.  I can’t believe I’m saying this, but ditching Mark and making Bridget single again actually proved to be an effective strategy. It brought her back to the fumbling, neurotic single lady we know and love- and which I at least, can really relate to.

The whole school e-mail threads, middle-aged malaise and removing nits from her children’s hair thing I couldn’t really get behind, but I’m sure some (older) readers will relate. (What? I’m still 27 for 3 more hours. I’m allowed to say that!).

I think the ultimate test will be how this book translates on film. Although it may sound counter-intuitive, I’ve always preferred the Bridget Jones movies to the actual books themselves. I wonder why? (*COUGH* COLIN FIRTH *COUGH*)

…. aaaaand just one more for good measure:

bridget1

Question of the Day: Are you A Bridget Jones Fan? Will you read the new book?

8 thoughts on “10 Second Book Review- Bridget Jones: Mad About the Boy

  1. Love the movies! Never even read the books! I’m a big Hugh Grant fan and a Colin Firth fan as well, so yeah I feel ya on that one. And I enjoy a chunky Renee every now and then!

    Like

  2. I may just be a slow reader, but this review took more than 10 seconds for me. A Happy Birthday to you and let’s hope that just because you are into November and don’t have to post everyday anymore you at least post every once in a while. That is all.

    Like

  3. I’m not a fan of Renee Zellweger’s but my love for Colin Firth and Hugh Grant outweighs that … I’m not sure if I’ll get into the third book, but will always appreciate your honest recaps!

    Like

  4. Pingback: Bridget Jones dates her way to the top of the Christmas hardback fiction charts

Leave a Reply

