Books

10 Second Book Reviews – The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

It’s now week 42 of my 52 Books in 52 weeks challenge, and I’m clocking in at 37 books read so far. Not bad, but not exactly on pace, either. Truth be told, I’m starting to freak out about all of the ground I have left to cover. At this point, I think I need to either give up my social life entirely, or read nothing but illustrated novellas with 18 pt font for the rest of the year.  

friday12

I digress. The point of this post is (shockingly) not to discuss my failings and insecurities, but rather to review this lovely little book I read recently:

second3

The Rosie Project centers around Don Tillman, a 39-year-old genetics professor who is somewhere on the autism spectrum- he just doesn’t know it yet. Don has only two friends, is ruled by order and routine, and, most relevant for our purposes – has never been on a second date.  

Citing scientific evidence that “married men are happier and live longer”, Don sets out to find the “perfect” wife by creating an extensive, detailed questionnaire, asking everything from “average alcohol consumption” to “do you eat Kidneys?” (correct answer: occasionally). Women who do not score 100% are summarily disqualified.

Don, however, is forced to reconsider his “Wife Project”  when he meets Rosie – a smoking, drinking vegetarian who is chronically late and (gasp) has tattoos!

I don’t need to tell you that this plot has all the makings of a great, offbeat romantic comedy- and in fact it has already been optioned by Sony Pictures. The book, which originated in Australia, has been published in 38 countries and has quickly become an international sensation.

Although I’m usually sensitive to hype, I can’t deny that I really enjoyed this book. It was a fun, easy, read, and an unusual take on a classic love story. This is also the first book I’ve read with a character on the autism spectrum, and I found that aspect fascinating and intriguing. 

I give it: 4/5 Intellectual dachshunds

ID2ID2

Question of the Day: What’s on your night table these days?

(BOOKS! I MEAN BOOKS PEOPLE!)

20 thoughts on “10 Second Book Reviews – The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

  1. Wasn’t the movie “Stranger Than Fiction” also following a similar premise? And I’m trying to read through a lot of Classics that I missed when I was younger. Right now it’s “Dracula”, so I’m kind of excited! What book is next?

      • I hope you like it!! I am getting a bit quicker at reading with practice but it’s still not fast enough.. I thought about buying one of those speed reading kits off the internet, but.. my friends think I’m weird enough as it is.

  2. Yay – Adam Brody AND a positive review for this book! I saw the blurb for this one a couple weeks ago and added it to my ever-growing ‘to read’ list. Unfortunately I’ve not long started reading the ‘A Song of Ice and Fire’ series, so that’s me out for the count for at least half a year!

      • I know I’m a little late to the party – started watching the show a couple months ago and just had to read the books! I think I’ll devour them, too.

    • You know I put the Adam Brody in just for you now! haha. Def add this to your list… I may be dumb or old and not with it, but what is the Song of Ice and Fire series?

      • I wouldn’t let my fangirl brain believe it, but I did wonder when he started making a few more appearances around here! *happy dance*
        Oh don’t worry – the books have been around a while now – it’s the series that the ‘Game of Thrones’ tv show is based on. I only started watching the show recently and liked it so much I wanted to read the books! There are seven so far.

  3. This book is next in our book club list! I’m excited to read it because despite the hype I do actually think it will be good! I am currently obsessing over Murakami and am reading The Elephant Vanishes right now.

  4. “Half a Life” by Darin Strauss, a memoir about a 16-year-old who hits a classmate with his car and kills her after she swerves in front of him on her bike. It deals with how a person lives with such a tragedy in their past. The book is beautifully written and powerful.

  5. I’m two-thirds of the way through A Person of Interest by Susan Choi, but I’ve put it down because my e-loan of A Hologram for the King was available NOW so I had to grab it or lose it. Enjoying both, though the writing in the former is fairly dense. The Eggers is a breeze by comparison.

Leave a Reply

