Blogging / Fitness / Humour / Life / Running / Television / Uncategorized

Friday Five

So it’s only my fourth day of consecutive posting, and I’m already exhausted. Remind me again why I signed up for this??

friday12

Since writing a post about one coherent topic feels like A LOT right now, here instead are a bunch of random things I’ve been thinking about lately, all wrapped up under one alliterative title! Enjoy!

1. SNL

(and the amazingness that is BLERTA)

This past Saturday, SNL debuted for it’s 39th season; and because I’m kind of a loser die hard, I skipped out on a party to stay home and watch it. (Yes, I am aware I’m dying alone.)

Hosted by Tina Fey, it was the first episode in what has been dubbed a β€œrebuilding year” after the departure of Bill Hader, Fred Armisen, and mah boo Jason Sudeikis, and the addition of 6 new white guys cast members.

friday14

Although I expected the night to be a total disaster, there were actually a few standout moments – like this parody of HBO’s “Girls” introducing Blerta, the Albanian refugee who keeps all those whiny white b*tches in check with her truth-telling. (and should 100% be made into a full-time cast member.. just saying).

friday1

(Canadians can watch the full clip here)

Blerta is seriously my homegirl.

Side note: does anyone else remember those t-shirts?

friday2

I bought one circa 2004 pretty much solely to shock my Catholic parents, and when I wore it I thought I was the SH*T. I also had a t-shirt with Jimi Hendrix’s face on it, despite never actually having listened to Jimi Hendrix. All of this serves as further proof that I am, in fact, a fraud.

2. Fall Weather

I hate to be one of those girls who just can’t S.T.F.U. about fall, but guys, I honestly can’t help it. October is f*cking amazing. Thanksgiving, Halloween, my BIRTHDAY, pumpkins, not sweating Whitney Houston styles on the subway every morning.. I mean, life really doesn’t get much sweeter than that.

friday4

Plus, with this weather I am actually motivated to get out and run for a change. You see, since the Treadmill, Cold Weather and Too Hot Weather are BreezyK Public Enemies #1, 2 and 3, there is really only a short window of opportunity during which running doesn’t completely make me want to kill myself.

friday7

Since we’re currently in the sweet spot, the other day, I decided to go for a run on the Lakeshore path in Toronto and it was glorious. I of course had to instagram it to show all of my friends how superior I am for exercising:

031

And in doing so, nearly fell into Lake Ontario. Don’t ever let anyone tell you karma isn’t a b*tch, kids.

3. This

friday3

4. The Return of Primetime TV

With the notable exception of Big Brother, it was a long, dry summer for TV up in here. I was seriously beginning to worry I was going to have to find a hobby or something… Or worse, actually leave my apartment.

On a weeknight?!

friday5

Alas, I can continue my sloth-like ways, because all of my stories have returned to their rightful place inside my dream box. There’s

The New Girl,

friday11

The Mindy Project

friday9

Parks and Recreation, X FACTOR. I could go on. There are also a few new shows that I think might have potential- like Seth MacFarlane’s Dads starring Seth Green and Giovanni Ribisi, and Brooklyn Nine-Nine, starring Andy Samberg as a wise-cracking cop.

friday8

I can’t tell if it’s going to be good or garbage but I will support the co-creator of Laser Cats until the day I die.

friday13

5. Fresh New Tracks

Besides just being the season where outfits look the best on me and my skin glows most luminous, fall is also an amazing season for music. Some of my favourite artists are out with new stuff, like Arcade Fire, and Drake (even though he jacked my outfit) as well as some cool new bands I hadn’t heard before, and I’ve got a few sweet concerts lined up. Here’s a track I’ve had on heavy rotation lately to help carry you into the weekend…..and also make you vaguely crave a pumpkin spice latte.

No? Just me on the latte then?

Question of the Day:

(get ready- because it’s a really deep one)

What’s your favourite season?

7 thoughts on “Friday Five

  1. Is that Keith (Keef) from BBC’s “The Office” as the reporter? (Google check…) Yes! Yes, it is! Well, my week is complete. That and the Lionel Ritchie cheese. Plus the song is bonzo (a word). Bravo.

  2. Nice job making it four days in a row. I know what a commitment that is!! Keep it up, because I love your blog and all the things you write about. You hit so many good things today. First, fall ……. If you don’t like fall then clearly you probably hate Christmas and children as well. :-) I love the fall as well, and all of its pumkiny goodness. I live in Maine which is the unofficial capital of fall. Secondly, Lionel Ritchie? Isn’t it time for a comeback? Hello? We’d be Dancin’ on the Ceiling, or partying All Night Long if that happened. Television, I have to watch myself or I waste too much time watching tv and being a waste of space. I have tried to dedicate myself to “finally” getting back in shape and yes running is my method. At one time I was pretty serious about it, but now I am in the hating phase. Why didn’t I just stay in shape? Thank you for the laughs today. Awesome, awesome job, keep on blogging, the world needs to hear what you are thinking. :-)

  3. This is why most people, (by that I mean me) only do posts every other day. Every day is insane. Speaking of laser cats, if there is one post you should check out on my blog it is the one I did today. It’s dedicated to my blog friends from the Great White North, which I’m kinda guessing you might be from.

Leave a Reply

