Humour / Life / Movies / Television

10 Inventions From Pop Culture I Wish Were Real

Few films have left such a lasting impact on my life as the 1999 cult classic Office Space.

officespace2

Not only are its characters hilarious and its lines highly quotable, its tongue-in-cheek (yet painfully accurate) depiction of corporate culture continues to haunt me in my day-to-day life.

officespace1

Anyway, while catastrophizing about my life the other day, I was reminded of one of my favourite anecdotes from the film-  the “Jump To Conclusions Mat”.

invention10

Conceived by the bumbling Tom Sizemore, the Jump to Conclusions mat was, quite simply, a mat that you put on the floor with different CONCLUSIONS that you could JUMP TO.

invention11

I wished I had a jump to conclusions mat myself. Things would be so much simpler (especially if I landed on “moot!” every time).

All of this got me thinking: what other inventions from popular culture would I love to see come to life?  

1. The Delorean Time Machine

Back To The Future

invention13

Where we’re going, we don’t need roads.

Man, what I wouldn’t give to go back in time. On second thought-  I don’t know if I could handle the responsibility. What if it was like that episode of the Simpsons where Homer time travels through a toaster and Ned Flanders becomes dictator of the universe? Or we all end up with giant lizard tongues? Actually, the lizard tongues would be kinda cool. One Delorean, please.

2. Transporter

Star Trek

inv5

Oh, the places I would go with a Transporter.

……Mostly to Sephora and the bulk candy store down the street… but still, Beam me up, Scotty!

3. Mind Control Device

Family Guy

inv4

The brainchild of diabolical toddler-genius Stewie Griffin, this ingenious device allows its holder to completely control the mind of anyone within aiming vicinity.

While Stewie used his  in an elaborate scheme to kill his mother, I’d use mine for much more benevolent purposes…. like convincing all of my coworkers to bring me cupcakes. Mmm. cupcakes.

4. Invisibility Cloak

Harry Potter

inv2

Because I’m inherently 7 years old, I often think about what I would do if I could be invisible for a day. Eavesdropping, sneaking onto international flights and stealing expensive items are all high on my list; but more importantly, I’d probably just pull a lot of people’s pants down.

5. The Transformation Chamber

Family Matters

invention6

Like Steve Urkel’s debonair doppleganger Stefan Urquelle,
invention8invention7

I like to think I have an alter ego inside me just waiting for a Transformation Chamber to come out as well. Her name is Breeyoncé, She is a 5’11 Spanish pop star/diplomat/fugitive who is wanted in several countries for her suggestive on-stage dancing. Recently divorced from Charlie Sheen, she bides her time as Karl Lagerfeld’s muse and has a taste for expensive champagne and wealthy Italian race car drivers. She also rarely sweats, has long, thick, luxurious hair, and never feels awkward at cocktail parties.

6. The Lazy Man Toilet Chair

The Simpsons

invention14

This spectacular device was created by Homer as a way of going to the bathroom while watching TV; because, as he rightly proclaimed, going upstairs is  “the hardest thing in the world.”  I feel you, Homer- and applaud your ingenuity- even if it is really gross.

7. The Hair Helmet

Flight of the Conchords

invention4

While this invention might not be as useful as, say, a teleporter or time-travelling DeLorean,  I still think I’d look pretty bad-ass riding around Toronto in one of these puppies.

Especially if worn in conjunction with Brett’s other inventions: the “camera phone”

invention5

……….and gloves that look like hands.

inv6

8. Everything by Kramerica Industries

Ah Cosmo Kramer. One of the most inventive, yet misunderstood minds of our generation. How could I choose just one invention when we’ve got:

  • The Coffee Table Book about Coffee Tables

invention15

  • the Mansiere (or “the bro”)

invention17

  • the pizza restaurant where you make your own pie

invention19

  • cologne that smells like the beach; and last but definitely not least:
  • Fusilli Jerry
Seinfeld Bus

“I chose Fusilli… because you’re silly”

9. Neutralyzer

Men In Black 

inv3

When you say and do as many awkward things as I do, having a device to easily eradicate others’ memories of your ridiculousness sounds pretttty pretty good. Especially if it comes with a side of Will Smith.

10. The Cornballer

Arrested Development 

invention3

Invented by George Bluth in the mid-1970s,  the Cornballer is.. well, a device used to make cornballs.

invention1

It was made illegal after it was found to cause serious burns, however George continued to market it in Mexico with the help of Richard Simmons.

3rd degree burns or no 3rd degree burns, cornballs are damn delicious. I could use one of these bad boys in my life.

Question of the Day:

What fictional invention(s) do you wish were real?

23 thoughts on “10 Inventions From Pop Culture I Wish Were Real

  1. I’ll take a Neutralyzer please. Especially because it could mess up people mind’s if used too much. I think I would take the intersect that was in Chuck’s head without all the side effects of course.

    Like

  2. You had me with transporter but I was enthralled when I realized there was someone else who really wanted a cornballer!! I can see myself hanging with Michael and George Michael making cornballs and icing the burns. :-) Thanks for the entertainment. I think one thing I would add to the list are both from Star Trek as well, the holodeck because you can do anything in there and the machine that makes their food, that would be awesome! :-)

    Like

    • Yes! I would totally put up with the burns for that :) I thought about including the machine that makes food in pill form from the Jetsons… but then I wondered if I’d actually want to eat food in the form of a pill? Probably not.. I’m way too gluttonous for that

      Like

  3. Pingback: Throwback Thursday: High School Style | The Camel Life

Leave a Reply

