Blogging / Humour / Life

Started From The Bottom Now We’re Here

So I was perusing my Instagram feed the other day, marveling at Rihanna’s tattoos and wishing I had Jessica Alba’s life:

I mean.. seriousky

I mean.. seriously

when suddenly, this spiffy little WordPress notification popped up on my screen:

startedfrom18

I was like:

startedfrom12

Followed by:

startedfromthebottom2

 

startedfrom3

startedfrom4 - Copy

startedfrom7

startedfrom5 - Copy

When I started this blog back in September, 2011, I never thought I would convince over 1,000 spambots and members of my immediate family   people to subscribe to my nonsense, but somehow, it happened.

….Ok, that’s a complete lie. I totally expected this sh*t to go viral and catapult me into superstardom. I’m talking book deal, my own sitcom, frequent media appearances, plus a line of highly successful licensed merchandise. 

BreezyK bobblehead anyone?

BreezyK bobblehead anyone?

I would of course, also become besties with Mindy Kaling and Lena Dunham.

startedfrom16

What can I say? I watch too much TV.  

Anyway, since none of this has happened (YET),  I guess I’ll have to settle for you people.

I could tell you how much all of your likes, clicks and comments have meant to me over the past 18 months, but talk is cheap – so instead, I’mma put my money where my mouth is and say thanks with a

GIVEAWAY!

Since I have been going  through a bit of a “literature phase” lately and subjecting all of you to my unsolicited book reviews and misguided novel-writing attempts, I figured it was only fitting to give away a (wait for it…) book!

Intellectual Dachshund says: Literature and butterflies are the two sweetest passions known to man.

Intellectual Dachshund says: Literature and butterflies are the two sweetest passions known to man.

That’s right folks, one lucky reader will receive a copy of the book I’m currently reading:

Let’s Explore Diabetes With Owls by David Sedaris 

startedfrom13

Let’s Explore Diabetes with Owls is the newest collection of essays from New York Times bestselling author (and my idol) David Sedaris.

Here is a brief description from his website because, honestly, it’s way too early for me to try to write my own:

From the unique perspective of David Sedaris comes a new book of essays taking his readers on a bizarre and stimulating world tour. From the perils of French dentistry to the eating habits of the Australian kookaburra, from the squat-style toilets of Beijing to the particular wilderness of a North Carolina Costco, we learn about the absurdity and delight of a curious traveler’s experiences. Whether railing against the habits of litterers in the English countryside or marveling over a disembodied human arm in a taxidermist’s shop, Sedaris takes us on side-splitting adventures that are not to be forgotten.

Basically, I want to be David Sedaris when I grow up. His book Naked was actually the inspiration for my starting a blog in the first place.  

IT ALL COMES FULL CIRCLE, FOLKS!

Anyway, in order to win, all you have to do is leave a comment below answering this question of the day:

What is the best book you’ve read so far in 2013?

You can also get an extra entry by either liking the Camel Life on Facebook or following me on Twitter. (I promise I’m only marginally annoying). 

*Contest only open to residents of Canada and the U.S. and Closes Tuesday, May 28th at 12:00pm EST.  

Good luck! 

Love,

BreezyK and Drizzy 

P.S. Don’t forget to vote for me for Funniest Blog in the indie chicks 2013 badass blogging awards!

badass

31 thoughts on “Started From The Bottom Now We’re Here

  1. I voted for you as it’s well-deserved. Where can I buy this bobblehead of yours…? I promise not to put it on the wobbly spot above my fireplace.

    I live in the UK so I’m not going to actually enter the giveaway, but I’m roaring my way through the Game of Thrones books at the moment. You should definitely check them out, even if you’re not a fan of fantasy stuff.

    Like

  2. Ok I liked you on FB, followed you on Twitter and voted for you. What more do you want? You want to know my favorite book? Well the one I wrote of course “When Life Gives You Lemons… at Least You Won’t Get Scurvy!” http://madgemadigan.com/buy-my-book-when-life-gives-you-lemons-at-least-you-wont-get-scurvy/ But other than that “Love Comes to Buildings on Fire” about the New York City music scene uptown and downtown in the 70s and 80s.

    Like

  3. Congratulations. I’m verging on 200 and suddenly feel very, very small. But you know what they say: size doesn’t matter. They also say: LIAR!
    My reading has taken a back seat this spring to other nonsense but the best book I’ve read so far? Telegraph Avenue by Michael Chabon.
    Love Dave Sedaris (and Amy Sedaris while we’re at it).

    Like

    • I had under 200 followers for about a year and I appreciated each and every single one of them. IMHO you should have way more though because you are hilarious and always write quality, witty posts.

      I’ve been wanting to read Telegraph Avenue for a while and your recommendation was the final push I needed to pick it up yesterday.. can’t wait to read it!

      Like

      • I love my followers too. I know there are ones I can count on to touch base and leave a comment, and it’s all warm and fuzzy and wonderful. No complaints (at 199 this a.m.!).

        I picked up a used Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay recently and think I’m reading that next. I’m slowly reading 419 by Will Ferguson — Giller Prize Winner — and am less than engaged. But I’ve been busy and the reading has taken a back shelf, so I’m sure that certainly hasn’t helped. Enjoy your weekend!

        Like

  4. I don’t know if I’m following you on Twitter OR if I liked you on Facebook, what’s wrong with me? I’ll be fixing that. (Not just for the giveaway…) I for one am not at all surprised by your Drake-like meteoric rise.

    Like

  5. That’s awesome! I’m sure Mindy and Lena are just prepping new BFF bracelets in anticipation of your arrival.

    My favorite book this year was Tina Fey’s “Bossypants.” Yes, I’m way behind the trend. But it was still delightful, full of advice and a quick read.

    Followed on FB + Twitter — thanks for the opportunity!

    Like

    • OMG our bff bracelets would obviously be very sophisticated and cool. I can’t wait till I get it.

      I loved Bossypants and I just read it this year too!

      Like

  6. The best book read so far? Probably The Book Thief, because I haven’t finished “Let’s Pretend This Never Happened” yet. :P

    Congratulations on 1,000 follows! That is pretty awesome, especially because as that number climbs, the number of people actually reading your blog climbs too. Thanks for being awesome, I mean that. :)

    Like

      • I haven’t been a big fan of her blog, but wanted to read her memoir to see if I understood her blog more. :P Which is working. I’m not liking it as much as Bitter is the New Black by Jen Lancaster for instance, but I am liking it a lot.

        Like

  7. I must have that new David Sedaris book.

    Ok, best book read was Stephen King’s On Writing, which has been collecting dust o my bookshelf for years. It’s part memoir and part writing manual with a lot of really great advice. Did you know that after King started writing Carrie, he threw out his first draft because he thought it was crap? His wife pulled it out of the trash and convinced him to keep going. Anyway, I found it an inspiring read.

    Like

  8. Congrats on 1k… you know that when you hit the 1k mark you need to name your Followers… The Breezykites or some such thing….

    Best book so far this year? “Why Be Happy When You Can Be Normal?” by Jeanette Winterson.

    Here’s to the next thousand!

    Like

  9. Congrats on the 1000 followers. As one of them, I can attest that we’re not ALL spambots and family members (well…not your family anyway).

    I enjoyed “Let The Great World Spin” by Colum McCann. I found it to be both beautiful and haunting.

    Like

  10. Congrats and I voted for you in the contest to up my chances at winning. I knew a few other people there, but they don’t talk to me so fuck’em.

    I’ve only read one book this year because I’m too impatient and have only been on one long train ride. It’s a book some guy loaned me then he stopped talking to me. That’s what I get for trying to make friends off Craigslist. It’s basically conservative propaganda.

    Like

  11. The best book I’ve read this year was Benoit Mandelbrot’s memoir, The Fractalist. You have to read it for content rather than style since Mandelbrot was not a native English speaker and died before the book was edited. However, his story was fascinating, as was his way of processing mathematics. He was a wise man with many profound insights which you can’t miss– even through the occasionally difficult English.

    Like

  12. Congrats!!!! Best book this year? “What the Body Remembers” by Shauna Singh Baldwin. It follows a young girl who becomes a second wife to a man caught between traditional India and a changing India, just as England is leaving India forever, and India is dividing. I couldn’t put it down!

    Like

  13. Have you ever read She’s Come Undone by Wally Lamb? I’m almost finished with it–so amazing!
    Congrats on 1,000 followers! That’s supremely incredible. Props to you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

