Blogging / Celebrities / Entertainment / Family

10 Lessons From TV Moms

A wise woman once said, “It takes a village to raise a child”.

mom32

That, and “You can never have enough pantsuits”

mom31

…but we won’t hold that against her. 

In honor of this maxim (the village, not the pantsuits), this Mother’s Day, I’ll be celebrating not only to my own mom, but also all of the amazing TV moms who helped raise me. Claire Huxtable, Elyse Keaton, Vivian Banks, Kitty Foreman-  where would I be without all of their sage advice, no-non sense attitudes and witty one-liners? (Well, maybe a little more well- read. But that’s beside the point.)

Here, with the help of a few GIFS, are 10 lessons I learned from TV moms: 

1.    Stand Up For Yourself

…. you show those b*tches who’s boss 

mom1

mom30

mom40

mom22

2. You only have one family, so you might as well make the most of it.

mom10

3. Not everything that’s good for you is fun

mom17

mom5

4. Don’t worry so much about your appearance

………..You can have a harelip, crunchy bangs, or look like Mama June and someone will still love you.

mom36

mom41

mom42

5. It’s Important To Always  Be a Lady

mom37

mom25mom23

mom39

mom38

mom9

6. Every once in a while, you need to eat a piece of humble pie

mom14

……………….Unless of course you’re Tina Fey

mom16

7. Choose your friends wisely

…….because apparently, everyone is an asshole

mom18

8. Don’t ever forget where you came from

mom28

9. And When it comes to boys….

mom21

But if you really can’t help yourself…

mom27

And when you find that special someone… 

mom3

10. Don’t be afraid to let loose every once in a while:

mom4

mom33

… and when all else fails,

Sometimes, you need something a little stronger

mom35

mom11

mom6mom7

mom8

Happy Mother’s Day!!

Question of the Day: Who Is Your Favourite TV Mom?

22 thoughts on “10 Lessons From TV Moms

    • I’ve recently learned how to make my own so I don’t have to steal them all from the internet.. it’s kind of an addictive habit and strangely satisfying

  1. Gotta say Laureli is my favorite. Those two took talking about nothing at the speed of light a work of art. When they say the average woman speaks at 20,000 words a day, those two probably did 100K easy.

    • I always found their dialogue a little unrealistic, but maybe that was just me being bitter because my own mother/daughter relationship wasn’t as eloquent and sophisticated

      • I always felt like I was so behind when I listened to them. I would catch a joke they told three paragraphs back and then I would miss everything else. They never found anyone else that had as much chemistry as each other.

  2. Kitty Foreman is definitely one of my favorites. She’s so funny. (And I watched a load of That 70’s Show).

    Claire Huxtable is another favorite.

    • OMG I love Bob’s Burgers! Did you watch this week’s episode? I am starting to play softball next week and I’m so worried I’m going to end up like Gene!

  3. I like Katey Sagal – not the Married With Children version but the Sons of Anarchy one. She’ll knock your F’ing teeth down your throat then share a joint with you. Tough love, but nurturing.

      • Katey Sagal has a lot more range than just Peg Bundy, and from the looks of the credits at the end of every Sons episode, she knows how to find work for her family too.
        If you can, start at the beginning of Sons, or you’ll never figure out what the hell is going on.

Leave a Reply

