Books / comedy / Humour / Life

Review: The Last Girlfriend on Earth by Simon Rich

Simon Rich is a pretty impressive dude. At 28, he’s already held the position of editor-in-chief of the Harvard Lampoon, been the second youngest writer ever hired on Saturday Night Live, had countless short stories published in The New Yorker, and penned five books.

simon

Yeah. You’re not alone if you’re feeling REALLY inadequate right now.

lifebad

The Last Girlfriend on Earth is Rich’s latest collection of short stories. Each one is about love and relationships- but with a twist:

lastgirlfriend

From  a story written from the perspective of a condom in a young boy’s wallet, to Dog Missed Connections, to a little girl’s imaginary goat who wants to become “more than just friends”, each story is delightfully charming, quirky, and undeniably hilarious.

I first discovered Simon Rich, and this book through an interview he did on The New Yorker Out Loud podcast. He read an excerpt from one of his short stories, and talked a lot about writing- particularly his time at SNL I thought he sounded funny, and since I’m a die-hard SNL fan (how awesome was JT this past weekend by the way?)

vegan4 vegan3 vegan2

I obviously had to go out and buy this book… and I’m really glad I did.

It was the very definition of short (took me 2-3 hours to read total) and sweet. Besides just making me LOL, the best part for me was that each story read like an SNL skit. I found myself picturing how each one would be played out on-screen, and which SNL cast members would portray each character. I’d love to see the story about a blind date with an actual troll turned into a Lonely Island digital short, for example:

lonelyisland2

And I'll never go back... to my not having sex ways of the past

And I’ll never go back…  to my not having sex ways of the past

Given what he has done so far, I don’t think it will be long until Simon Rich is a household name. I can see him having his own TV show- sort of like the Mindy Project, but about Jewish New Yorkers and relationships. (Ok so that’s basically Seinfeld. Or Friends. But you catch my drift

I thought this book was fantastic, and you should definitely buy it if you enjoy Saturday Night Live, Woody Allen, The New Yorker, The Simpsons, Futurama, Dude Where’s My Car (for the sex aliens) or if you just straight up love to laugh.

I give it: 4.5 Intellectual Dachshunds

5dasch

Question of the Day: Do you like short story collections or novels better?

20 thoughts on “Review: The Last Girlfriend on Earth by Simon Rich

  1. Sounds like a find.
    I tend to shy away from short stories for reasons I can’t quite fathom. I mean, they’re short! What’s not to love? Maybe I’m just not willing to invest in a quickie relationship. I’ll consult my shrink and get back to you. That said, I fell in love with Lorrie Moore last year after reading Birds of America, a catalogue of mid-life’s uncertainties and settlements, written in poignant, funny, acrobatic prose.

    Like

  2. I can go either way. The only reason I wouldn’t enjoy a short story is when the story is so good that I’m disappointed that there wasn’t more of it. If that makes sense. Thanks for the recommendation, I’m going to check out this guy’s work!

    Like

  3. Pingback: March Reading Recap: In Like A Lion, Out Like A Hedgehog | The Camel Life

  4. So I finally got around to reading this based on your recommendation and I loved it! The dog missed connections was probably my favorite. Thanks for the review!

    Like

  5. Pingback: The Top 10 Books I Read in 2013 | The Camel Life

Leave a Reply

