Road Tested: TopBox.Ca

So today, I’m going to talk about beauty products.

beauty

Guys, I’ll give you all a minute to peter out slowly.

All gone now? Ok, good. Now I can feel free to post this highly unflattering/terrifying picture of myself:

bk

Yah, I went there.

Let me back up a minute. About a month ago, I signed up for this service called TopBox (I know- the name is a bit unfortunate. Especially if you’re a 15-year-old boy like I am) where for $12 a month, you get sent four beauty products to try out from a list of great brands.

topbox

Pretty sweet, right? TopBox is only available in Canada, but there’s a similar service in the States called Birchbox, so no need to feel left out my American friends!

About two weeks before my first box was scheduled to arrive, I got an e-mail asking if I’d like to choose from one of the March “specialty” boxes. One was a collection of Aveda samples, another some Jurlique products, and something called “Lippy Girl” which I think was lipgloss. Anyone in my family will tell you that I’m lippy enough already, so I decided just to go with the standard four product mix.

I got home from work on Friday to this lovely little gem in my mailbox:

004

I thought it might be fun to test out the products and do a little review of my experience- so here goes.

L’Oreal Mythic Oil

I was really excited about this one- mostly because I thought it was some sort of actual magic potion.

mythicMy initial excitement waned a little when I found out it was just a hair product, but I was still willing to give it a try.

According to the website, this product “leaves even the finest hair looking shiny, feeling nourished and supple.” I did as the instructions said and put a few drops in post-shower/pre-blowdrying.

Before:

019

After*:

050

*I may have edited the after pic slightly. Slightly.

As you can see, it really did leave my hair feeling softer and shinier. It also smells wonderful. I wish you all could scratch and sniff the screen right now. Not sure if it’s as great as Moroccan Oil, but I’d definitely try it again.

MaskerAide Hydrating Facial Mask

022

Given that this product is described as “Pre-Party Prep”, it’s only fitting that I used it on a night when I was doing absolutely nothing at all. Gotta look good for my books, peeps!

When I took this mask out of the package it had the weirdest consistency- gelatinous and a little slimy. It reminded me of something you’d eat at Chinese Dim Sum. I did my best to just ignore that and put it on anyway.

Looking in the mirror with this thing on was a truly horrifying experience- like Friday the 13th meets The Skin I Live In.

Quad_Skin I Live In_AW.indd

I did, however, enjoy texting the pic of me above to all of my friends and freaking them out.

The instructions said to leave the mask on for 10-20 minutes and relax, so I did just that. I lit a candle, put on some Youth Lagoon, and read a magazine. I was so relaxed, in fact, that I completely forgot I had that sh*t on. It must have been like, 40 minutes before I realized. Panicked, I ran to the bathroom, expecting to find my face completely disfigured a la Freddy Krueger, but luckily, all was in tact. I was a little red the next day, but I’m not sure it was because of that or just because I have sensitive skin. Either way, i don’t think this made much of a difference, but it was still kind of fun to try.

Aveda Caribbean Therapy Moisturizer

I’m usually a big fan of Aveda products. I get my hair done at an Aveda salon and love their shampoos and the fancy Aveda brand tea they give you in the waiting area.

That being said, I thought this moisturizer was kind of whack.

020

The texture was thick and clay-like and the colour was very unappetizing. (Go ahead, say it: TWSS). It also didn’t spread very well and left me feeling like I had covered myself in baking grease.

turkeygif

delicious

Despite my subsequent deliciousness, I would still classify this as a non-buy.

Marc Jacobs Fragrances

003

This cute little case contained samples of Daisy, Daisy Eau so Fresh and Lola by Marc Jacobs. Of course, being the genius I am, I broke the Lola one because I thought the top twisted off when clearly it was a spray cap:

009

So I never got to try it. But the two daisy ones were nice and fresh. Not sure if either will be my new signature scent though. Choosing a fragrance is a big deal: just ask Snooki:

snook

Overall, I was a little disappointed with this month’s selections. I was really looking forward to there being some makeup products and I was kind of bummed it was all hair/skin stuff. That said, it was still really exciting to get this package in the mail. It reminded me of when I was a kid and used to buy those $1 Grab Bags at the corner store. You kind of knew everything in it was going to be crap, but there was still the thrill of the unknown. I also had a lot of fun reviewing everything (this is literally how I spent my Saturday night), so if you guys are game, maybe I will do another post for next month’s products?

Question of the Day: Have you tried out any new products lately that you love? Any bad ones?

…. or are you low maintenance and think I am incredibly vapid and vain. Because that is also a fair assessment.

34 thoughts on “Road Tested: TopBox.Ca

  1. Oddly enough, as much as I love beauty products I can’t remember the last time I set foot inside Sephora or even wore makeup. It has to do with laziness more than anything else.

  2. I do not know anything about beauty products at all. I love reading stuff like this because it was extremely well written and humerus. I also have been trying to gain more insight into how women think. Thank you for the interesting lesson. :-)

    • I think I was maybe more bitter about the box as a whole that there was no makeup involved. The perfume sample made me feel bitter because I broke it, but I think that may have just been self-loathing disguising itself as bitterness.

      • Thank you for describing your bitterness about “beauty products”. If only I had any knowledge of them, I could use this for a post. As they say though, write what you know.

  3. Most of my beauty product “exploration” is usually hair products. For a long time there, every time I found something that worked well on my hair, the company would discontinue it. (I have very fine, extremely curly, extremely thick hair.) Recently, I’ve been sticking to the same stuff mostly, but I did get a coconut oil anti-breakage serum that I really like. I might try Ouidad curl products at some point, you know, when I have money to spend on it. :P I enjoyed your beauty product post, it is nice to see vicariously how beauty products work out, and if I ever decide to buy any I have some suggestions. Write on! :D

  4. This will sound weird, but I recently received a nipple balm for lips in my Birchbox and it’s the best chapstick I’ve ever used. It’s shiny, not sticky, and lasts for HOURS.

  5. My manly curiosity got the better of me and I read the whole post, despite your warning at the start. I don’t know much about this stuff, except that I’m pretty sure Caribbean Therapy is supposed to invlove plane tickets and rum.

  6. Breezyk, my love… The fact that you took *that* photo, that you *posted* that photo on the internet for all the world to see, for all eternity = New Respect For Breezyk! You go!

    • To be honest, I hadn’t even thought of it in such final terms: posting it on the internet for “eternity”…. self-consciousness creeping in.. lol
      Glad you enjoyed!

  7. Hi Breezy…this post was great. I have horrible hair and would listen to my stylist say oh, get this…spend next month’s rent..they won’t evict you I promise! (I’m crossing fingers behind my back bc my firstborn needs braces). Last Christmas, I was home and forgot my hair stuff. My sister had loreal evercreme. It kinda/sorta tamed the beast but the smell was to die for. Loreal makes worthwhile product…:-)

  8. Darn you! Why couldn’t you let me feel like the poor American that got left out? Now I just might subscribe to this box non-sense simply because I love receiving things in the mail, specially in (big or small but mostly BIG) boxes. The Marc Jacobs bag is what’s almost pushing me to edge, but no one is promising I’ll get a cute little bag with my box. Hopefully I’ll have enough will power to not subscribe to this non-sense, I’ll keep you posted. Great reviews by the way, you + mask= the new sexy!

  9. Love the photos! Keep reviewing your monthly finds, please. Maybe I’ll subscribe myself after using you as a guinea pig for a few months!! :)

  10. Pingback: Spotlight: Birch Box | Adventures

Leave a Reply

