Throwback Thursday: Where Are They Now?

I’m a sucker for a good Friends re-run.  Anytime I hear an episode playing, or catch a glimpse of it on TV, I automatically feel compelled to watch it.

friends4

It’s like I’m being pulled by some sort of centrifugal force. Kind of like how Kramer felt about Mary Hart…. only exactly the opposite.

maryhart

Anyway, the other day I found myself watching an episode;  and as the iconic theme song filled the room, and my heart with nostalgia, I got to thinking about The Rembrandts.

rembrandts

Remember them? They had a massive hit back in 1995 with the mind-numbingly awful yet unbelievably catchy ”I’ll Be There For You” , but what have they done since?

A quick Google search informed me that The Rembrandts (otherwise known as Phil Solem and Danny Wilde) had one other hit: the emo slow jam “That’s Just the Way it is (Baby”). Apparently, however, the stress of 2 hit songs was too much for them, and they split up shortly thereafter. Solem wanted to concentrate on his own band Thrush, while Wilde released his own solo album.

Both of these solo efforts met with about as much success as David Schwimmer’s movie career:

pallbearer

So they eventually got back together in 2000, and have since released about 17 greatest hit(s?) albums. They also  write and produce music for other really current and relevant bands, like The Gin Blossoms. Other than that, I think they’re probably just busy hot oiling their hair, wearing round sunglasses, and cashing in on all their Friends royalties.

Syndication, baby! Ca-Ching! $$

Syndication, baby! Ca-Ching! $$

Incidentally, that episode also guest-starred Jennifer Grey as Barry’s fiance, Mindy. Obviously I needed a little refresher on what Baby was up to as well.

dirtydanc

Well, apparently that nose job wasn’t so “career ending” after all because home girl won Dancing with the Stars in 2010 and is now starring in lifetime movies! Holla!

jennifergrey

Take that, haters!

All of this got me thinking back to some other forgotten has-beens celebrities from my past.. like:

B4-4

Canadian ladies of my vintage will undoubtedly remember the hot mess of seashell necklaces, spiky hair and sub-par vocals that was B4-4.

b44

The band, which consisted of Toronto twins Ryan and Dan Kowarsky and their friend Ohad Einbinder,  hit it big in 2000 with their single “Get Down”:

WARNING: This video contains scenes some viewers might find disturbing. Like Orange and yellow parachute pants.. and Mank Tops.

I never heard much of them after this, but Wikipedia tells me that they went on to become a giant hit in Germany.

David Hasselhoff and B4-4? Germany, I may never understand you.

germany

They also used their fledgling celebrity status for a good cause by promoting an anti- frosted tips Smoking Campaign for the European Union alongside Moby.

mobdy

The band broke up shortly thereafter, and Ryan and Dan decided to branch out on their own and form the inventively named pop/opera duo “RyanDan” .

ryandan

ryandan2

I just can’t even.

According to the RyanDan website, they are releasing a new album soon. Get ready ladies!!

And as for Also-ran (I mean, Ohad Einbinder), apparently he works in music production now and developed a pair of headphones that transform into a boombox. Watch out for the film adaptation in 2014 starring Shia Labeouf.

shiaf

Natalie Imbruglia

natimbrug

The Australian sensation had a giant hit here in North America in 1997 with her song “Torn”, which I was legitimately obsessed with back in grade 6.

I made an entire mixtape of it just this song, and listened to it so much that my mom and dad tried to impose a two-times-a-day limit. I also got my hair cut just like hers; failing to consider that the effect might be slightly different on a prepubescent, mildly overweight 12-year-old than on an Australian pop star.

Once I had my haircut, I would put on my matching grey hoodie and Chinese print tee, set my mixtape to “play” and lip sync in front of the mirror for hours. I had all the moves from the video down pat.. which mostly involved flailing my arms around and looking distressed.

This was not a proud time in my life.

So what has she been up to since? Well, apparently she was a judge on Australian X-factor and was married to Daniel Johns from Silverchair, but is now divorced. Currently, she is an  unsigned artist.

I also stumbled across her Instagram the other day, which didn’t tell me much, except that she has long hair now, and really likes Koala Krisp:

natalieimbruglia

Damn, that b*tch looks good in anything. Off to buy my own box of cereal and mimic this pose.

Question of the Day: Any forgotten celebs you’re wondering about?

(I’ll save you the 30 seconds and Google them for you)

27 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday: Where Are They Now?

  1. I’m glad I’m not the only one that does this. Sometimes a forgotten celeb will cross my mind, and I’ll go read their Wikipedia life story from beginning to end.

    • I’m definitely with you girl. Just last night I read the Wikipedia entries of both Dave Thomas, founder of Wendy’s, and Colonel Sanders.
      I really need to get out more.

  2. Oh my lord! B4-4 was just awful. Thank you for discovering RyanDan (!). It made me laugh out loud!

    Do you remember SoulDecision? “Ooo It’s Kinda Crazy”? At the time i thought the blond guy was super hot. They once filmed a music video on my street when I was in the eighth grade and I got to be an extra. I thought I was the coolest.

  3. Nice job. I had never heard of B4-$ and resisted the temptation of watching the video, your warning was enough. Every kid in the history of the world has lip synced to some strange music that they might be embarrassed about today. Totally normal. I had many different bands that I was infatuated with. I never dressed like them because I lived in Maine and would have gotten beaten up every day if I looked like a Flock of Seagulls. I lip synced on the inside. Thanks for the interesting post, you are a great celebrity Googler. Seems like that phrase should be inappropriate, but its not. :-)

    • You are much better off! I never took my Natalie Imbruglia act on the road either. I think some things are best left to the privacy of our homes. And thanks, it’s always been my aspiration to be a great celebrity Googler ;)

  4. Wow, Canadian boy bands are way worse than American boy bands. Are you sure your research is accurate. Based on the video, it looks to me like the entire band became the cast of Jersey Shore.

  5. Hahaha dying at your Natalie Imbruglia phase. That’s totally something I would do. I was such a mirror performer. So disturbing.

    Speaking of disturbing, I’ve never heard of B4-4 and I just can’t even deal with them right now. Have you ever listened to B*Witched? Please say yes. Their two best songs in my opinion are C’est la Vie and Jesse Hold On. Classics.

    • You need to listen to them if you want your Canadian-ification to be complete!!
      And of course I’ve heard B*witched. The video for C’est La Vie with the jean-on-jean outfits and irish dancing pretty much made my life. My friend and I also coreographed a dance routine to that song and performed it at her younger sister’s birthday party. Why did no one videotape us

  6. you’re always good for a laugh, breezyk!
    I’m having a day where I’m so overtired, I just can’t even.

    Funny stuff!
    Wish you were here for the upcoming snowstorm. We could buy the koala stuff that natalie so loves and you, me and lo could chow down and lip-sync while the storm rages outside…

    love
    yo’ sis

    ps – are you coming to Cuba??????!!??
    you really should.

    • That sounds awesome! Maybe lo could teach us some better dance moves! I wish I was coming to Cuba.. Will you carry around a pic of my head on a Popsicle stick instead? Good luck braving the storm xoxo

  7. My family owns all 10 seasons of Friends. Prior to this past December, we didn’t have cable. My kids watched Friends over and over and over (and over and over). I sometimes hear the theme song in my sleep. And yet — AND YET — I have never been able to decipher the second line of that song: “So no one told you life was going to be that way [clap-clap-clap-clap], it must have for a goat that got some Tina Fey.” AND DON’T TELL ME I DON’T WANT TO KNOW!

  8. Oh gees, just the other week I saw a “Video On Trial” MuchMusic clip on Youtube about B4-4, I cried a little. I didn’t like them when I was younger, nothing could steal my heart away from the Backstreet boys at that point in my life…

Leave a Reply

