Beauty / Culture / Exercise / Humour / Life

Always Remember That You Are Unique. Just Like Everybody Else.

You guys, I have to begin with a piece of breaking news: SOMEONE RETURNED MY HAIRBRUSH!!!

hairb

The lovely cleaning lady at the gym took pity on me when I told her my harrowing tale of loss and sorrow, and directed me to a second location where they sometimes keep lost items. Lo and behold, there was my brush! AND my facewash!

My faith in humanity has been restored. Note, however, that the other two brushes remain outstanding.  This means that the probability of a BreezyK hair doll existing continues to be high.

haird

Now onto item of business #2: Both Ross Murray and Twin Daddy gifted me with the Very Inspiring Blogger Award.

very

Ross is the hilarious and insightful blogger behind Drinking Tips for Teens, and, more importantly  a fellow Nova Scotian. Holla!

And of course, many of you know TwinDaddy of StuphBlog fame from his mysterious StormTrooper Avatar, faithful commenting and UnShitty Trademark. Now go and visit them both! (You know, after you finish reading this post.)

So the rules of the game are as follows:

  • link back the person who nominated you (done),
  • state 7 facts about yourself, and
  • nominate 7 other bloggers for the award.

Wow, this is going to be so different from all my other posts! I never write about myself! (Just kidding, that’s all I do.)

Here goes:

1. I regularly walk into Godiva with no intention of buying anything. I just linger there long enough to get a free sample, then leave.

godiva

2. I went snowshoeing last weekend for the first time ever.

I’m not gonna lie, I kind of expected my snowshoes to look different.

Exhibit A: What I thought my snowshoes would look like:

 snowshoes2

Exhibit B: What my snowshoes actually looked like:

003

Oh well, it was still a lot of fun, and a surprisingly good workout. Here’s a pic of me and my friends, just killing it:

017

3. Speaking of killing it, remember my New Year’s resolution to read 52 books in 2013?

Well, I am pleased to report that I’m on book #5 so far this month. That’s right, fools. I eat pieces of literature for breakfast.

Here is the book I’m currently reading/something I hope never happens to me:

myboyf

Maybe I’ll do some reviews??

4. Lately I’ve been having the urge to cut my hair like Tegan and/or Sara in the video for Closer:

tegansara

I won’t do it though, because I fear it might be misinterpreted as a cry for help.

5.  Sometimes, when I’m running on the treadmill, I’ll just listen to the same song over and over again. Most recently, it’s been this one:

I used to think this was weird/OCD behavior, until Mindy Kaling Tweeted this:

mindytweet

Never stop being my soul sister, Mindy.

6. If you follow me on Twitter or Instagram (@breezyk1) then you already know this, but I went for a lovely 3.5 hour brunch with Karen of The Chronicles on Sunday.

077

Between us, we managed to consume 2 orders of eggs benedict, 7 americanos and an entire bag of donuts.

080

Hold your applause, please.

7. I went to a one-man show last night called Catalpa. It was at a little indie theatre in TO, and was all sorts of weird and amazing. Dude played over 20 characters himself, including a whale, a seagull and a storm. (Which, for the record, aren’t even human, so….) It’s playing until Saturday so, if you’re in the area, check it out!

Now, to nominate 7 other bloggers:

Lily – My long-legged Canadian homegirl who is also CRAFTY. Jealouss

Karen – As I’ve said before, passing on all blogging awards to her was a condition of our marriage contract.

Katie- She’s sassy and balderdashy. Is that an adjective? I just made it one.

Tori Nelson- Because she is a haute mess. And really, really funny.

Cowboys and Crossbones- Cause she loves cocktails, fashion and nail art just as much as I do.

New York Cliche- A new favorite of mine- I’m mostly jealous of her big apple life.

Cafe – My fellow Torontonian with a MAD set of pipes.

Also, the lovely and talented Sarah of Diary of a House Elf bestowed upon me the Wonderful Team Membership Reader Award.

wonderful

Since I’m all tapped out of interesting facts, I”ll just skip straight to the 14 9 nominees. (14 is way higher than I can count).

Because I’m lazy they’re awesome, I’m also giving this one to the 7 b*tches above. And for the sake of equality (and the continuation of our blogging species) I’ll throw a couple guys into the mix:

  • Our Life in 3D- he’s giving away candy canes and old Halloween treats! Seriously.
  • Ben – because he really needs a reason not to be bitter.

Go check them out! Just don’t be disappointed when they aren’t as good as I am. Just kidding I’m not kidding.

Question of the Day: Have you ever been snowshoeing?

I swear that’s how you spell it.

41 thoughts on “Always Remember That You Are Unique. Just Like Everybody Else.

  1. LOL I love the 7 facts you posted about yourself. And such an awesome pic of Karen! lol you girls and your brunch =P
    And thank you so much for this honour, my dear! I’m so very touched xoxo

    Like

  2. Please do book reviews! I am the laziest reader ever and need recommendations or I will just flail and get whatever is on the recently-returned-pile at the library.

    Like

  3. OMG,,,when I lived in Buffalo,NY I did the same thing at Walden Galleria and hang in the Godiva place just long enough to get a sample,,great minds eh??
    So cool that you and Mindy met up for breakie,
    I was thinking of having a get together with local Bloggers in the Spring/Summer and would love you and Mindy to crash it,,you in?

    Like

    • Ok thank God you said that because I had a moment where I was like… please don’t tell me I’m the only one who does that haha.
      And YES I’d be totally down for a blogger meet up. As long as there are donuts involved.

      Like

  4. I know I’m bad at commenting on your blog, but, most of the time there would just be too many things for me to say that you’d ban me because I left such long, rambling comments.

    That being said: I read each and every post. Sometimes I read them twice. Not because I’m slow and need extra readings to understand them, but, because they’re just so much fun to read.

    I guess what I’m trying to say is that I may not be a big commenter, but, I am a devoted BreezyK fan. Your posts always brighten my day.

    Like

    • Your comment made my day! It is so nice to hear that someone is reading and enjoying all of the random thoughts I’m putting out there.
      And for the record, you can leave as long and rambling comments as you like :)

      Like

  5. I was just thinking about snowshoes the other day since I’m commuting to work now, and I think I might have to add them to my winter fashion collection. …For no reason other than to have those giant tennis-racket-looking snowshoes you pictured above.

    PS: Balderdashy is really having a moment as an adjective right now.

    Like

  6. I did the snowshoe thing once and yes it did make me bitter. Walking is bad enough, but then adding some goofy shoes, snow, cold and that just makes me a whole ball of bitter. And of course I am also bitter that you blog is better than mine. :(

    Like

  7. Lovely post. But that’s not why I’m commenting, I tried watching the video you posted and I got this message “the uploader has not made this video available in your country”?! :/ what happened to the days of the “worldwide web” I guess now we are just allowed to search within our country?

    Like

  8. Great Job Bree! Love your title here. Like, “the only thing constant is change” in the business world. Not what I would think of for snowshoing either but seeing the shoes, and how cold it looks, made me wanna try it. The shoes remind me of trying to walk with diving flippers on, not an easy thing to do. Loved your post!

    Like

  9. You are spoiling me with all this love! Thank you so much! Firstly, congrats on your hairbrush and face wash! A beauty angel is watching over you. Second of all, I do the same thing on the tredmill–no big d. Thirdly, it might be too soon to consider me crafty…my necklace isn’t done yet and it looks weird…! Fourthly, 5 books already? Geeze Louise! Jealous. Tori Nelson is awesome and I’m gonna check out the rest of these lovely ladies.

    I listen to your mix non stop for realz.

    Like

  10. I love you. I would go to Vaughan for you. Happy 1 year! And they said we would never make it. By “they“ I mean everyone who hates on online relationships. I`m glad you found all your lost articles.

    Also, I actually read half of “My boyfriend wrote a book about me“. But I couldn`t get through its fne literary content. I stopped reading after that chapter about the ugly poo. That bitch is CRAY.

    Please don`t cut your hair likeTegan. Think of all the smelly coconut oil you`ll have to use to grow it out again. And all the other hair product you`ll have to buy…and lose at gym.

    And finally, no. I`ve never been snowshoeing. But thanks for laughing at this poor freshie while you explained it over a bag of doughnuts.

    Like

  11. you know, I would have expected snowshoes to look like that too, but I tend to stay away from snow “sports” since I lost a snowboard down a mountain at a ski resort. Just…nope.

    Like

      • My friend was helping me learn, went up again and he went down without me (after his love interest at the time -_- and for some reason I didn’t think I could ride the lift back down? so I unhooked my snowboard and started walking down, and dropped it, and off it sailed. It was rented, too, so I was really glad that they ended up finding it because they never charged me for it.

        Like

  12. YOU GOT YOUR HAIRBRUSH AND FACE WASH BACK?!?! Congratulations! I always thought there was some deep, dark hole everything I lose outside of my home goes to spend eternity….Thanks for the inspiring shout out and cheers to you!! I once read 52 books in a year as my New Year’s resolution – I like the way you think. Never been snowshoeing and I will probably never do it unless my snowshoes can look like the pic of what you thought they would look like…

    Like

Leave a Reply

