Christmas / Family / Humour / Life

Coffee Talk

Did anyone else automatically think of Linda Richman when they read the title of this post?

linda

No? Just me?

So I flew into Halifax around midnight last night and crashed on my sister’s couch for the night.

I was then  awoken at 6:30 a.m. (that’s 5:30 Toronto time) by my 8-year-old niece Lola standing approximately 10 centimetres from my face, whispering “BREE” emphatically.  I jumped about a foot, and was justifiably freaked out before realizing it was her.

“You grew your nails long”, she remarked. “They look nice.”

She then proceeded to hop up on the couch with me and start downloading games on my iPhone.

Photobucket

The culprit

Ahh, the joys of home.

Needless to say, after that lovely little wakeup call, I needed some caffeine, stat.

At home in Toronto, I’ve got a Keurig, which my (other) older sister bought for me as a gift during a recent visit. I had mentioned to her I wanted one, and she went out one day while I was at work late and picked it up for me.

via keurig.ca

via keurig.ca

I cried when I got home and saw it. Long-term stress can do these things to you.

Anyway, since then Mr. K (a little term of endearment I like to use for him) and I have been in an intense love affair. Together, we have almost entirely eliminated those painful 30-60 minutes between initial wakefulness and walking through the door at Starbucks.  Now, I have Starbucks  on  tap (or in k-cups, as the case may be,) 24 hours a day.

Does life get any sweeter?

Now, if I could only figure out how to eliminate all those alcohol-less moments between 9-5.

Photobucket

I even bought a travel mug for ease of transport. I hope the world doesn’t end tomorrow, or that will be a colossal waste.

And I don’t even mind that the damn machine takes up approximately 78% of the counter space in my 500 sq foot condo. Since coffee holds about 78% of my heart, I feel it’s proportional.

Anyway, this morning, I had no such Keurig luxury and instead was forced to bundle up and walk my tired ass to Starbucks in the freezing cold. (if you think I didn’t wear my pajamas for this endeavour, then you’d be wrong).

I grumbled to myself as I walked, cursing the snow and the damp Nova Scotia weather. Had I sprayed these new boots already?  I hoped so.

But I was actually pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed my Starbucks experience. Granted, everyone in Nova Scotia is at least 10 times nicer than everyone in Toronto (sorry, Torontonians), so I really shouldn’t have been. The barista met me with a smile and a cheery good morning, and when I asked for Soy milk in my coffee, he responded “Sure. After all, it is Christmas!”

like this but a guy

like this but a guy

I left happier, more energized, and significantly more caffeinated.

On the walk home, it hit me: I think I actually miss the take-out coffee experience. When you live alone and work long hours, you start taking pleasure in the limited social interactions you have every day.  Even if they are with complete strangers. And while my new Keurig has added a level of convenience and hyper-caffeination to my life, it has also served to cut out yet another connection I used to maintain with the outside world.

lonely

I thought about all my homies at my local Starbucks in Toronto. I hope they are doing well. Maybe I’ll start dropping by for the occasional latte on the weekends or something, just to say hello.

I guess it’s really just another byproduct of our generation: the more technology we create, the less face-to-face interaction we maintain. It’s all a little bittersweet, and I’m a little melancholy about it.

What I should really be focused on, though, is the fact that in a couple of days, I will be off to my parent’s house in a small town where the closest Starbucks is almost 2 hours away. How is this even possible?? Instead, I will be forced to drink the cigarette-butt infused tepid bathwater that is Tim Horton’s coffee (sorry, all other Canadians), and two chocolate glazed timbits to wash it down with. I’m willing to bet, however, that the small talk at the drive-thru will still be worth it.

Question of the Day: Do you make your coffee at home, or get takeout? What’s your favourite kind?

P.S. Don’t forget to enter my holiday mixtape giveaway!!

mixt2

And jut to eliminate any confusion, the “mixtape” title is pure hipster irony. It’s actually a CD. There may have been less manual labour involved, but I promise it was still made with plenty of love!

21 thoughts on “Coffee Talk

    • Mickey, in your world, juice would be our currency. 20 bottles of Dean and Deluca pineapple mint would equal roughly a nickel. Depending on the strength of the Yen.

  1. By avoiding regular consumption of alcohol, I can actually function without coffee. (That is not as nasty and snarky as is must sound!!) As for the social interaction, it is so true that we don’t see anyone anymore. Everything is automated. I think you ought to make those weekend trips to say hello – you won’t regret them. I make many such social calls for the same reason.

  2. I love that flying into Halifax is never actually flying into Halifax. How many tourists have deplaned there and gone, “What the fffff….?”

    Driving to Antigonish in two days’ time — the Tim Horton’s Capital of Nova Scotia per-capita-wise, I do believe.

  3. I only really have coffee out of habit; not really that arsed about it.

    Your coffee stories are always funny, so I hope your addiction doesn’t go away any time soon.

    We need pics of your nails.

  4. I love the name Lola. And I love that she commented on your nails. I used to be addicted to coffee. Now I’ve slowed down a bit, but I’m still severely jealous of your Mr. K.
    Omg a mixtape giveaway? That’s such a good idea!

  5. I’m sorry that you will be bitterly dissappointed but I don’t drink coffee and I live in Seattle where Starbucks was invented. And there are Starbucks on every corner, and two other coffee stands in every house, outhouse, henhouse, apartment, condo, and in every gas station, bus station and train station. Thanks for using bittersweet as it is a criminally underused word. Well, at least bitter is.

Leave a Reply

