Culture / Family / Humour / Life

Like Father, Like Daughter

So as I mentioned in my last post, my dad came to visit me in Toronto this weekend.

Since his birthday is on Christmas and he perpetually gets the shaft gift-wise, my siblings and I decided to chip in this year and get him tickets to the Buffalo Bills game happening here.

billsg

Now, given my dad lives in small town Nova Scotia and has only been to Toronto once 30 years ago, I kind of expected his visit to resemble one 48 hour-long episode of Breaking Amish.

amishtv

But I couldn’t have been more wrong. Dad soaked up Toronto like a sponge and wanted to experience everything it had to offer. He seriously wore me out. I’ve gotta start taking those iron pills.

The weekend got off to a rough start, however, when we experienced a slight luggage snafu at the airport. (I just love the word “snafu”. It makes even the most horrific problems sound like charming little anecdotes). I won’t get into too much detail because it’s kind of a long story, but know that in the end, we emerged victorious. And there might have been a little low-level B&E involved (By him, not by me of course: I have a professional reputation to uphold).

All’s well that ends well, right??

Anyway, with lady luck on our side, we prepared to tackle the rest of the weekend. (<— football pun).

Some highlights included:

  • Brunch Dates: (Sorry Karen.. had to cheat on you just this once)

073

  • My very first visit to the CN Tower

117

(And no, I did not step foot on that glass floor. Heights and I do naaaat get along.)

  • The Hockey Hall of Fame

088

Ladies- a word to the wise. If you plan on accompanying a man here, bring reading material. And maybe a flask. (Unless you’re one of those progressive ladies who are really into sports. In which case, have fun… and ignore my anti-feminist propaganda. )

  • The Allan Gardens Conservatory:

170

171

  • The St. Lawrence Antiques Market

110

This was a win for both of us. I checked out vintage jewellery and books while he bartered over old coins. I even scored this sweet vintage 1968 Bulova. #treat

109

  • He even got me to go to church. At least I got this cool instagram pic:

093

And, of course, the Bills game:

143

To say he loved it would be an understatement. We got kicked out of the stadium for lingering there so long afterwards. He loved the crowd and seeing all of the behind-the-scenes stuff you don’t see on TV.

I, on the other hand, amused myself by taking pictures:

144

Reaffirming my love for cracker jacks, and of course, Psy’s halftime performance.

160

Does this feel like a really long 15 minutes to anyone else?

I also feel like I got to know my dad a lot better this weekend. Like for one thing, he asks a LOT of questions. Here is just a small sampling of the many queries he had for me:

  • Are the Concession vendors inside Rogers Centre paid an hourly rate or by commission?
  • Who owns this building/when was it built/what is the occupancy/how many stories is it (Re: every single building we were in)
  • What does your landlord’s boyfriend do for a living?
  • Are the subway cars the same on both ends? What happens when it gets to the end of the line?

I guess I can’t really fault him; I, too, was notorious for my relentless questioning as  a child. I remember asking my older sister what other names my parents had considered for me, and she responded “Sun Yeoung”.

“What does that mean?” I asked.

“She who asks too many questions.”

What’s that about an apple and a tree?

He was truly obsessed with the subway though.

ttct

He had never been on one before, and kept trying to convince me to take it to the end of the line just to see what would happened. Of everything we did this weekend, he told me the Bills game was his favourite, followed by riding the subway. I told him he was like a little kid who gets a gift and likes the box better than the present itself.

Dad also made like 800 new friends talking to every single person he encountered. Ticket scalpers, homeless people, construction workers, TTC employees, you name it. He knows all of them by name and their life stories. I hope he doesn’t get wind of the fact that we’re looking for a new mayor here in Toronto, or I may never have my apartment to myself again.

Question of the Day: Are you like your dad? Your mom?

P.S. I know you’ve been waiting for it. Here it is, folks: Track 3 from the mix-tape nobody cares about!

29 thoughts on “Like Father, Like Daughter

  1. I absolutely love your dad! He is the cutest and the older they become the more questions they ask (my dad is the same way). To answer your question I am definitely like my dad, I might look like my mother but that’s the only thing we have in common. I’m glad he enjoyed himself, Toronto looks like a lot of fun!

    • He honestly made me think about so many things I would never even have noticed.. and I find myself wondering the same things even now that he’s gone. When was this building constructed? What used to be in it? lol.
      Toronto IS fun! You should hit that up!

  2. I’m like my mom when it comes to cleaning and cooking and drinking,,lol. Like my dad when it comes to watching the History Channel and the outdoors and drinking,lol.
    My dad was a ttc employee he drove,buses,streetcars and the subway. Tell daddio, nothing really happens at the end, the driver just walks to the other end of the train and starts the train again!
    My brother and I used to love being on the head car and look out the front window, we would pretend that we were Dr. Who,,,going thru the tunnel at the beginning of the show!

    I’m glad you had such a great time with your daddy! I can’t wait to see mine this wknd for Christmas :) I assume your going home?

    • I WISH I was like my mom when it comes to cleaning!
      At least you have the drinking part covered on both accounts ;)
      And thank you for explaining that to me! I’m going to tell my dad and he is going to feel so validated that he figured it out haha
      Yes I am going home for Christmas very soon! Can’t wait :)

  3. Haha, it sounds like you two had a great weekend together :)
    I am like my mom in some ways (we both have type A personalities and are very stubborn) but I am more so like my dad. Everyone says I look like him and we are alike in a lot of other ways too. :)

    • I am a little like both too! I am also stubborn like my mom and we have a lot of the same interests… I’m more like both of them than I’m willing to admit to be honest ;)

  4. hahah this post is all kinds of awesome. I had to laugh at the Instagram of St. Mike’s. Did people come to see the Bills game and get a Psy performance as a bonus? Or was it the other way round?

    Either way, your dad looks like a good sport…and an awesome brunch date. (I’m not even going to try and compete on this one)

    • Lol st. Mkes was beautiful and don’t worry I waited until after mass to take pics. Plus I lit a candle so that evens it out right?
      I’m not sure which came first, the bills or the Psy, but what I didn’t mention was that BACHELOR BRAD introduced Psy at halftime! That’s really why I went :)

  5. Pingback: Nothing Says Love Like A Mixtape (Giveaway!) « The Camel Life

Leave a Reply

