Humour / Life / Writing

Don’t Look Ahead There’s Stormy Weather

So I know I promised you all stories about my trip to New York, but I have to admit that for the past week and a half, I have been experiencing a moderate to severe case of writer’s block.

My writing teacher used to say that writer’s block isn’t a real thing; it’s just a manifestation of one’s fear and anxiety. Well, I kind of wanted to punch him in the face every time he said that, because sometimes it is a real thing. Sometimes you really just can’t think of anything to say. And other times, you’d just rather lay on your couch watching Home Alone 2: Lost in New York and identifying all the places you’ve been while eating questionably  old Kernels Popcorn.. and that’s ok.

Met her

Met her

So although I haven’t been blogging, I have been channeling my creative energy in other ways. Like obsessively planning all of my Holiday outfits. And working on my inaugural “BreezyK Year in Review” Mixtape.

What’s that? You want to hear the first track? K:

Now, don’t go getting any ideas about how cool I am, because the other 16 tracks are probably all going to be Nicki Minaj and  One Direction.

Kidding. I’m not kidding.

Speaking of One Direction, can we talk about T-Swift and Harry Styles for a minute?

I have to admit, that for a 27-year-old woman, I am unreasonably jealous about this. I mean, just look at how skinny these jeans are:

harry2

He obviously belongs with me. Harry, don’t you know that Taylor’s skinny ass is just going to dump you in 4-6 weeks and then write another drony album about it? I would never, ever, do you like that.

In other news, I’m also in a funk because I haven’t been running lately. I developed a bad case of plantar fasciitis or some sh*t (or at least that’s what my Doctor,WebMD, tells me) from walking catwalks around New York last week in inappropriate footwear.

So in order to maintain my perfect physique, I’ve been forced to use the elliptical. Guys, let me tell you. I thought there was nothing worse than the treadmill, but THERE IS. Sh*t is SO. BORING! Plus, it makes me feel like the female incarnation of Tony Little whenever I am on it… minus the glorious hair.

tonylittle

It  basically makes me want to strangle myself with my iPod headphones. But instead, I just focus on Rachel Ray cooking things that would obviously take way longer than 30 minutes in real life. Why do they play cooking shows at the gym by the way? It seems a bit of a perverse incentive, no?

And I guess I shouldn’t say I haven’t been writing at all. I have been working on a children’s story about a clumsy Zebra named Patrick. It isn’t very good.

Anyway, that’s all I got for ya. I swear I’m brewing something good soon. Keep the faith guys. I’m going to stop talking now.

Question of the Day: Do you work out at the gym? Are you a treadmill/elliptical type of person?

24 thoughts on “Don’t Look Ahead There’s Stormy Weather

  1. Incubation period – that’s all. We’ll wait. Patiently… For a while anyway ;-)

    And no I don’t do gyms. Silly places, really, full of false hope and broken promises. And they’re boring and expensive. Maybe that’s why I have a bit of holiday pudge(?).

    Like

  2. I have writers block ALL THE TIME, should I have this checked?

    And yes I work out (I like to torture myself what can I say) I actually like going to the gym get on the treadmill and/or elliptical that’s how I catch up with all my shows, I usually take my iPad with me and watch 3-4 episodes while on the machines, it works for me. When it’s not too cold or too hot out (Chicago knows how to do both extremes really well) I run outside but my neighborhood has really weird smells so it’s not too pleasant so I just head the gym.

    Like

    • I’m the exact same way about running outside- has to be PERFECT weather… and in Canada since we basically have no spring, it has to be fall. Looks like I’m off the hook for another 9 months or so ;)

      Like

  3. I get writer’s block on my novel all the time. That is why I like blogging as well. I can switch back and forth and be inspired on one or the other and usually the one sparks the other. I hope the clumbsy Zebra makes it print. That would be a great story.

    Like

  4. Best way I find to get over writer’s block is write as many different things as possible at the same time. You’re bound to be inspired by something you’re working on. If that doesn’t work watch a movie, tv show, or read a book. If you’re like me you’ll think you can do better which will be an inspiration to work harder.

    Gyms? I do it at home. Ever since a man in a tank top smiled at me when I was 13 and wiping off a machine I have had a fear of the actual gym. I heard an old woman saying swim walking helps keep her in shape. It’s always an option.

    Like

    • That’s actually a really good idea.. see what stirs the pot.
      I work out in the all-women’s portion of the gym.. which completely does away with the prospect of creepy man-staring.. It still sucks though.

      Like

  5. Breezy, it saddens me to think you have lost your love for the dreadmill. We have an elliptical upstairs. I can’t for the life of me figure out a work out on that that has me sweating and smelling as bad as I do now, coming back from the gym. I’ll see if I can find Harry’s blog and put a good word in their for you. Maybe you could swap jeans?

    Like

  6. Alright… Breeezy Gal, we gotta talk. One Direction? Harry Styles? Oh my. You do need to get out more often.

    As for you a la Tony Little: much better image than actual Tony Little. I’m just a wee bit (ok, a lot) creeped out by him and the hair.

    Writer’s block: I agree with you. Sometimes it’s just more fun to watch bad movies than it is to write. Or sometimes one just needs to be alone with one’s thoughts. I’ve heard the fear/anxiety thing, and, while there may be a sliver of truth in it, I think it is more often just a case of not having the willpower to keep your butt in the chair long enough to write something.

    Hope your planters gets better soon.

    Like

  7. Pingback: Like Father, Like Daughter « The Camel Life

  8. Pingback: Nothing Says Love Like A Mixtape (Giveaway!) « The Camel Life

Leave a Reply

