Food / Television

They’re Magically Delicious!

If there’s one thing I’ve learned since starting this blog, it’s that you guys have some serious mad-ass love for cereal.

Honestly. Cereal: A Love Story  has become by far my most popular post to date; and the number of hits I get each day from people google searching the words “bowl of cereal”, or some combination thereof, is both pleasantly surprising, and somewhat concerning. Clearly we all need to go back to grade 7 and pay more attention during Home Economics classses. But I digress.

Recently, I learned that this relentless and undying love for cereal transcended blog readers and hungry google searchers, when it was featured on an episode of Glee.  

Damian McGinty – one of the two winners of Glee’s reality show The Glee Project – made his debut in this episode as Rory Flanagan, an Irish foreign exchange student staying with McKinley High cheerleader Brittany Pierce’s family.  If you’ve seen the show- then you know that  Brittany isn’t exactly the sharpest tool in the shed; and of course was convinced that, because of his accent, Rory was a leprechaun. She asks him to grant her three wishes (in exchange for which, she’ll give him her “Pot of Gold”, if you know what im sayin); one of which being a box of marshmallow-only lucky charms. He miraculously delivers. and everybody’s all happy and singy and dancy, until that bitch Santana goes and ruins it all by telling Brittney that there’s no such thing as leprechauns.

Damn it, Santana, you dream killer! I wanted one of those boxes of lucky charms!!  

Anyway, in  honor of the Lucky Charms debut on Glee this season, they are giving away “Pot O’ Gold” themed Lucky Charms gift baskets- and I was generously offered one to give away on my blog!

The basket contains “everything you need to enjoy a magically delicious breakfast”- including a box of Lucky Charms Cereal, a bowl, and a spoon- just add milk.

(While I know it’s hard- please try your best to ignore the leprechaun’s frighteningly maniacal expression in this pic).

There’s also a some Lucky Charms flavoured chapstick, and a cool t-shirt made by Junk Food:

*Disclaimer alert- the T-shirt is a size XL – so sorry in advance to all you skinny bitches out there. The world really is such a cruel, and unfair place.

So if you want a chance to win it- leave a comment below answering the following question, and I’ll pick the winner using Randomizer.org:

How do you feel about Marshmallows in cereal? 

 Love em? Hate em? leave ‘em all till the end? Make sure to get one with every bite?  

Personally, I like to mix it up… I like a little sweet treat at the end, but the milk is already usually sugarfied enough for my liking at that point.

** Oh- and two more buzz-kill disclaimers: this sweet-ass contest is only open to residents of Canada and the United States, and all entries must be received by Friday, November 11 at 5:00p.m. Eastern Standard Time.  Good luck, bitches!!

11 thoughts on “They’re Magically Delicious!

  1. Love lucky charms!! This is exciting :)

    I leave them aaallll till the end. Youre absolutely right about the milk being sugarfied anyway at the end, but who’s kidding who? I need that extra sugar jolt to amp up the sugary milk to start my day properly!

  2. I leave them all for the end. For me, it’s not about the milk not being sugarfied enough or needing an extra sugar jolt. Marshmallows soaked in milk are just YUM.MY :)

  3. I need a marshmallow in every bite. Now after all this Lucky Charm talk I have to go have a bowl. Good thing I have some in my cupboard!!

  4. The only problem with marshmallows in cereal is maintaining the proper cereal-to-marshmallow ratio. Nothing worse than being left with a spoonful of those little bits of cardboard at the end. Or having to herd the cereal and one final marshmallow bit around and around with a spoon until you get ‘em all into your eager, waiting maw.

    Okay, that sounded more erotic than I had intended. But I do so love cereal.

  5. The only way I’ll eat marshmellows plain or roasted over a campfire. I’m not lactose intolerent but I’m not a big fan of milk, which leads me to my second point. With my foot being broken and all, the doctor has recommended a calcium rich diet. Which is why this giveaway is perfect for me:
    – I need Lucky Charms to accompany all the gross amounts of milk I’ve been drinking.
    – I need a bowl and a spoon since I can’t stand too long to do dishes.
    – I need an oversized shirt to lounge around in and spend the rest of my foot-broken days at home.
    – I live in Toronto.
    – I realise random.org takes into account none of the above factors but it was worth a try lol.

    Go cereal! woohoo!

  6. I………LOVE………CEREAL! And guess what? Lucky charms is my favorite. There is only one way they could make it better. That is to do what they did on Glee, and get rid of those supposedly nutritious, round whole wheat things, and make it 100% marshmallows.

    How do you feel about Marshmallows in cereal?

    I believe that the purpose of all cereal is do energize kids, and teenagers with a jolt of sugar so great, that they can survive until they have to face the lunch ladies meatloaf surprise at noon. I read somewhere that marshmallows are almost 100% sugar. Why do you think that people roasting marshmallows around a camp fire seem so juiced up? It’s because over the past hour as they danced around a roaring bonfire, they’ve eaten the equivalent of six boxes of lucky charms! I may just wake up early tomorrow morning, grab a box of cheerios, secure two or three bags of big white fluffy marshmallows from my hidden stash, add a little milk, and drift away into heavenly bliss. There are two other reasons why I love marshmallows in cereal. The first is that it’s like eating a box of Cracker Jacks. You have two distinct textures. The soft popcorn is just like marshmallows, while the nuts are like a cereal’s whole wheat nuggets which in both cases, I discard. The second reason I love marshmallows in cereal is that they’ve allowed me to completely kick my thirty-four cans a day, Red Bull habit. I have to go know, because I’m running low on Lucky Charms, and I swear I just saw a Leprechaun at the window.

Leave a Reply

